Shrinking the Camel

I attended a business conference last week, and at the end of the first day found myself enjoying a very pleasant dinner cruise around the Marina Del Rey harbor with the other participants.

I met plenty of nice folks throughout the day, and we shared many business discussions revolving around the topics presented by the speakers. But over the course of the dinner, the conversation at my table of eight turned more personal. This could have something to do with the wine bar. Anyway, we soon began laughing and swapping stories like old chums as we discovered delightful commonalities in our various backgrounds – geographies, companies, scooping on industry dirt.

I decided to let my guard down and be thoroughly authentic with these people. What harm could that do? As you know, I have recently taken full ownership over my identity as a writer, and determined this was an ideal opportunity…

View original post 370 more words

Leave a Reply

